Love, A Reflection of God

wp-image-1597455316March 2009

As I sit in my bed stroking the soft blonde hair of my precious sleeping 7 year old laying next to me, I am overcome by my feelings of love for him that are welling up within me.  “Thank you, Father, for blessing me with him”, I whisper softly.  “Thank you God, for all of my children.”

At that moment I’m reminded of God’s love for me.  My love for my little boy is so strong, yet, God’s love for me makes mine look like nothing.  I know this, yet I still cannot comprehend it.

“Love.  It’s a reflection of God.  It IS God. God is love and He created us to love as well.

Love itself is proof that we were created by a higher power.  Are we supposed to believe that love is some sort of by product of evolution?  That the ability to love is just happenstance?  How absurd!

I think about the atheist, who, like the Christian, feels love and I wonder how someone can feel the kind of love like one feels for their child and yet not believe in God’s existence.  How can one not see the connection? Even if all the many ways in which God reveals His existence and His presence among us were removed, love alone would be proof positive of God’s existence.

As for the atheist, I’m reminded that sadly, it’s their choice not to believe.  For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men who suppress the truth in unrighteousness, because that which is known about God is evident within them; for God made it evident to them, for since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities-His eternal power and divine nature have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made so that people are without excuse.  Romans 1:18-20

Next time you feel the overwhelming sense of love flowing through your heart as you look at your precious child, multiply that by a million times and you still haven’t even begun to come close to God’s love for you!

 

 

Author: Rebecca Berschwinger

I'm very much enjoying this stage of my life right now. I've been married to a wonderful man for 31 years and together we have 4 children. Our family has been growing with the addition of 2 son in laws and 4 precious grandchildren. I am an all natural soap artisan with a passion for writing, but most importantly I am a follower of Christ. It is my hope that this blog will in some way, whether big or small, be of blessing to you!

Leave a Reply

